MIDIALAB

Ensino e pesquisa em mídias digitais e educação

  • CONTEÚDO

    O conteúdo deste blog está organizado em seis categorias: TEORIA (resumos, traduções e comentários de textos de outros autores); PRÁTICA (relatos de experiências que eu conheci de outro lugar), MINHA PESQUISA (registro da pesquisa que atualmente desenvolvo na USC com apoio da Fapesp), EXPERIÊNCIA INGLESA (relatos de políticas, pesquisas e experiências no campo da mídia, cultura e educação desenvolvidas naquele país) e NOTÍCIAS. Há também uma categoria com textos em inglês sobre mídia-educação no Brasil.
  • NAVEGUE

  • mais acessados

    • Nenhum
  • janeiro 2008
    S T Q Q S S D
        fev »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

INTRODUCING MY RESEARCH AND MYSELF

Posted by alexandrabujokas em janeiro 6, 2008

This blog puts together information about media education in Brazil, departing from my own experience.

I am a lecturer of Jornalism at Universidade do Sagrado Coração (Sacred Heart University) in Bauru, São Paulo State, Brazil. I am graduated in Journalism (1991-1994), Master of Education (1995-1998) and Doctor in Education (2001-2005). Since my undergraduate course, I have been interested in creating ways to teach about media within public elementary schools in Brazil. I have been working on that subject since 1994, mainly teaching teachers about media.

In 2004, I studied as a visiting PhD student at Open University in Milton Keynes, UK. Between August 2006 and July 2007, I went back to the same university for a post-doctorate. In both opportunities, I adressed my work so as to understand why England became an international reference on media education and how they did it. I have come to know some answers, specially because I could compare their experience with the Brazilian sceneries. So, I concluded that, probably due to the 20 years my country lived under dictatorship, in my country we didn’t developed a strong sense of public interest on media. It is quite different in UK, where people have a stronger sense of the media responsabilities and this is an important cultural value which works as a scaffolding for media education policies and classroom practices.

Of course we have had some experiences in Brazil (you can find out more in the reading the section “History” in this blog), and even some brave attempts were launched during dictatorship. The problem is that those experiences were supported by very small groups of teachers, researchers, members of the church, and serveral projects didn’t reach a wide number of people.

But things are different now. Our democracy was re-established in 1985 and, since 1996 (when the Brazilian Government approved of a new educational law, called “Lei de Diretrizes e Bases da Educação Nacionla”), the governmental departments are continuously creating new policies on media, especially for public schools. In my opinion, one of the greatest problems now is that we don’t have much experience on how to develop media education: which topics, which abilities, which methodologies to use.

Because of that lack of experience, I decided to study in UK. I applied for a scholarship offered by the Brazilian Ministry of Science and Technology and carried out a research called “Media literacy – from public policy up to classroom based work” between 2006-07.

Once back in Brazil, I applied for a funding research from “Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa no Estado de São Paulo – Fapesp” (the governmental research funding agency of São Paulo State Government) and I started a new research about media education for Secondary School pupils. I am trying to apply the knowledge built during my post doctoral studies in UK. Here, you will find a registration about how my job is doing.

Deixe um comentário

 
